Excellence in Education Awards

Lincoln University has a long and enduring commitment to recognising excellent teaching.

Awards Overview

The purpose of the Lincoln University Excellence in Education Awards is to recognise significant accomplishments and achievements of Lincoln University staff in pursuit of the University’s strategic direction and objectives.

Excellence in education is viewed as a process where staff ingenuity, innovation and commitment to the student learning experience ensures that students are motivated to engage and learn in ways that make a sustained, substantial and positive influence on how students think, act and feel about themselves and their place in the world. Furthermore, it supports and celebrates all cultures and diversity and elevates students to a level where they learn deeply due to the efforts of Lincoln University’s educators.

Up to four awards, to the value of $2000 each, will be awarded annually to an individual or group in one of the following categories:

  • General
  • Kaupapa Māori 
  • Le Moana Mua

Wise Words: What makes a great teacher?

Students’ views on what makes a good teacher and a great teacher.
wise words

How to Apply

The process takes place in two stages:

  1. Nomination – due Friday 13 September 2024 by 5.00 pm. Nominations of individuals or groups must be submitted using the nomination form below. Nominations can be made by staff or by students.
  2. Portfolio submission - due Monday 4 November 2024 by 5.00 pm. Submitted by the nominee as a single pdf file containing the forms below.

Relevant documents and forms include:


The relevant dates for the 2024 awards are: 

Friday 13 September at 5.00 pm Nominations due
Monday 04 November at 5.00 pm Portfolio submissions due 
Week commencing 11 November Awards Committee meet
Week commencing 04 December Successful applicants notified
Annual Staff Awards 2024 Awards presented


If you would like to talk about nominating someone, being nominated or require individual assistance with the preparation of the portfolio, please contact:

Tracy-Anne De Silva
Manager, Centre for Learning & Teaching
Room: L004
Phone: 03 423 0244

Teaching Portfolios

Teaching portfolios are a requirement for the Excellence in Education Awards as well as Promotion. 

The Teaching Quality team in the Centre for Learning and Teaching (CeLT) is available to help you prepare your Teaching Portfolio. Workshops are held during the year or you can contact us for individual assistance. 

Te Whatu Kairangi Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Award…

The Lincoln University Excellence in Education Awards procedure, guidelines and criteria have been closely aligned to the Te Whatu Kairangi Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards procedure, guidelines and criteria. More information on the Te Whatu Kairangi Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards is available on the Ako Aotearoa website.  

Lincoln University Excellence in Education Award recipients will be eligible to apply for the Te Whatu Kairangi Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards within 18 months of receipt of a Lincoln University Excellence in Education Award. These award recipients will receive an additional $500 upon submission. Lincoln University provides writing and design support for nominees preparing a portfolio for the Te Whatu Kairangi Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards.

Past Winners of the Excellence in Education Award

  • Dyanna Jolly
  • Hafsa Ahmed
  • Tim Baird
  • Samantha White
  • Jacky Bowring – Principal Award
  • Andreas Wesener

Past Winners of the Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Charles and Margaret Brennan Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Maneesha Mohan – Early Career
  • Sylvia Nissen Early Career
  • Suzanne Vallance – Innovation in Teaching
  • Mohini Vidwans – Innovation in Teaching
  • Roslyn KerrPrincipal Award Winner and Sustained Excellence Category (3:33)
  • Tim Curran – Sustained Excellence
  • Christopher GanPostgraduate Research Supervision award (2:27)
  • Judith van Dijk – Tutor
  • Sally Price – Tutor
  • Luca ServentiEarly Career (4:06)
  • Lloyd Carpenter Principal Award Winner and Kaupapa Māori Category (3:45)
  • Azadeh (Azi) NilipourEarly Career
  • Pam BenbowTutor
  • Ani KartikasariEducational Support
  • Koji Kobayashi Innovation in Teaching
  • Joanna FountainSustained Excellence
  • James Ross Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Stephen WrattenPostgraduate Research Supervision
  • Roger McLenaghen Principal Award Winner and Excellence in Tutoring
  • Sue Clemes Educational Support
  • Tracy-Anne De Silva Innovation in Teaching
  • Hazel Gatehouse Educational Support
  • Sharon Lucock Early Career
  • Sharon Forbes Principal Award Winner and Sustained Excellence
  • Ann Brower Innovation in Teaching
  • Stephen Espiner Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Ken Hughey Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Eirian Jones Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Maurice Ward Educational Support
  • Tim Curran Principal Award
  • John Boereboom
  • Jacky Bowring
  • Christopher Gan
  • Hayley Ridgway
  • Gary Steel
  • Emma Stewart
  • Mike Barthelmeh Principal Award
  • Roslyn Kerr
  • Nic Lees
  • Kevin Moore
  • Rainer Hofmann Principal Award
  • Tracy-Anne De Silva – Principal Award
  • Maria Ignatieva
  • Ton Bührs
  • Ravi Gooneratne – Principal Award
  • Gillis Maclean and Paul McKeown
  • Grant Edwards – Principal Award
  • Crile Doscher
  • Christopher Gan
  • Sidney Weil
  • Clare Churcher
  • Paul Dalziel
  • Graeme Buchan Sustained Excellence
  • Neil Challenger Excellence in Innovation
  • Stephen Wratten – Sustained Excellence
  • David Dean – Excellence in Innovation
  • Derrick MootSustained Excellence – 2004 National Award Winner
  • Ravi Gooneratne Excellence in Innovation
  • Christopher GanSustained Excellence 2003 National Award Winner
  • Pip Lynch – Excellence in Innovation – 2003 National Award Winner