Excellence in Education Awards

Lincoln University has a long and enduring commitment to recognising excellent teaching.

Apply or nominate someone NOW for the 2022 Excellence in Education awards.

Closes Friday 16 September 2022

Awards Background

Are you an excellent teacher with a strong and sustained commitment to your subject area?
Do you work in a team and have achieved highly successful educational outcomes with your students?
Are you an inspired, innovative and enthusiastic teacher driven to stimulate quality student learning outcomes?
Do you excel in providing effective support and guidance in inspiring and promoting student success? 

If any of these apply to you, then you are strongly encouraged to apply for this year’s Lincoln University Excellence in Education Awards.

Successful applicants in any given year will receive $1000 to support their professional development activities. However, an overall Principal Award may be selected by the committee from the nominations received which will be encouraged to progress to the national awards:

Te Whatu Kairangi | Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards

They will also receive $3000 and an additional $2000 to assist them to enhance their applications even further for the National awards.

Wise Words: What makes a great teacher?

Students’ views on what makes a good teacher and a great teacher.
wise words

How to Apply

The process takes place in two stages:

  1. Nominations of individuals or teams of teaching or teaching support staff– CLOSES Friday 16 September 2022.
  2. Nominations (see link below) can be made by staff (through a Faculty Dean, Divisional Director or Manager) or by students. You may choose to apply yourself or encourage a colleague whom you think deserves recognition for their teaching to accept a nomination.
  3. Submission of supporting materials by the nominee – CLOSES Friday 04 November 2022.

Click the following links to access the nomination, policy and procedures forms:

The relevant dates for the 2022 awards are: 

Friday 16 September @ 5.00 pm Nominations Close
Friday 04 November @ 5.00 pm Supporting material submitted (including portfolio)
Week commencing 21 November Meeting of Awards Committee
Week commencing 05 December Successful applicants notified
Graduation 2023 Principal Award presented

If you would like to talk about nominating someone, being nominated or require individual assistance with the preparation of the portfolio, please contact:

Dr Jerry Maroulis
Manager – Centre for Learning & Teaching
Room: L004
Email:  [email protected]
Phone: 03 423 0347 

Teaching Portfolios

Teaching portfolios are a requirement for the Excellence in Education Awards as well as Promotion.

The Teaching Quality team in the Centre for Learning and Teaching (CeLT) is available to help you prepare your Teaching Portfolio. Workshops are held during the year or you can contact us for individual assistance.
teaching portfolios

Here is a video providing tips for Creating your Teaching Portfolio. Recorded on Thursday September 26 2019

National Teaching Awards

In 2001, the Government established annual awards for outstanding tertiary teachers. These are administered by Ako Aotearoa – National Centre for Tertiary Teaching Excellence.

These awards aim to recognise and encourage excellence in tertiary teaching and provide an opportunity for teachers to further their careers and share good practice with others.

The selection process is undertaken by a Tertiary Teaching Awards Committee, appointed by the Associate Minister of Education (Tertiary Education), and is supported by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority.

Recipients of the Lincoln University Awards for Excellence in Teaching will be nominated by the University for the national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards.

Teachers from Lincoln University received these National Awards in 2003 and 2004.

Previous Winners Podcast

Panel discussion (Sept 5, 2019) with past winners of the Teaching Excellence Awards sharing their thoughts on the awards and their importance to staff and students (45:10).
teaching awards

We acknowledge the contributions of the late Professor Steve Wratten, who features in this video, to the learning and teaching environment at Lincoln University.

Past Winners of the Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Jacky Bowring – Principal Award
  • Andreas Wesener
  • Charles and Margaret Brennan Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Maneesha Mohan – Early Career
  • Sylvia Nissen Early Career
  • Suzanne Vallance – Innovation in Teaching
  • Mohini Vidwans – Innovation in Teaching
  • Roslyn KerrPrincipal Award Winner and Sustained Excellence Category (3:33)
  • Tim Curran – Sustained Excellence
  • Christopher GanPostgraduate Research Supervision award (2:27)
  • Judith van Dijk – Tutor
  • Sally Price – Tutor
  • Luca ServentiEarly Career (4:06)
  • Lloyd Carpenter Principal Award Winner and Kaupapa Māori Category (3:45)
  • Azadeh (Azi) NilipourEarly Career
  • Pam BenbowTutor
  • Ani KartikasariEducational Support
  • Koji Kobayashi Innovation in Teaching
  • Joanna FountainSustained Excellence
  • James Ross Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Stephen WrattenPostgraduate Research Supervision
  • Roger McLenaghen Principal Award Winner and Excellence in Tutoring
  • Sue Clemes Educational Support
  • Tracy-Anne De Silva Innovation in Teaching
  • Hazel Gatehouse Educational Support
  • Sharon Lucock Early Career
  • Sharon Forbes Principal Award Winner and Sustained Excellence
  • Ann Brower Innovation in Teaching
  • Stephen Espiner Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Ken Hughey Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Eirian Jones Postgraduate Research Supervision
  • Maurice Ward Educational Support
  • Tim Curran Principal Award
  • John Boereboom
  • Jacky Bowring
  • Christopher Gan
  • Hayley Ridgway
  • Gary Steel
  • Emma Stewart
  • Mike Barthelmeh Principal Award
  • Roslyn Kerr
  • Nic Lees
  • Kevin Moore
  • Rainer Hofmann Principal Award
  • Tracy-Anne De Silva – Principal Award
  • Maria Ignatieva
  • Ton Bührs
  • Ravi Gooneratne – Principal Award
  • Gillis Maclean and Paul McKeown
  • Grant Edwards – Principal Award
  • Crile Doscher
  • Christopher Gan
  • Sidney Weil
  • Clare Churcher
  • Paul Dalziel
  • Graeme Buchan Sustained Excellence
  • Neil Challenger Excellence in Innovation
  • Stephen Wratten – Sustained Excellence
  • David Dean – Excellence in Innovation
  • Derrick MootSustained Excellence – 2004 National Award Winner
  • Ravi Gooneratne Excellence in Innovation
  • Christopher GanSustained Excellence 2003 National Award Winner
  • Pip Lynch – Excellence in Innovation – 2003 National Award Winner